In Taekwondo, belt colors are awarded according to knowledge and skill level. But what are the requirements for the colors and what rules apply in competition? In the following you will find an overview of the competition classes, requirements for the belt colors as well as the master degrees, i.e. the black belts and their contents.

Kwon Kampfsportgürtel, versch. Farben gelb 220 cm
  • Alle KWON-Budo-Gürtel sind aus 100%
  • fester Baumwolle und mehrmals gesteppt.
  • Es gibt sie in den Längen 200, 220,

Taekwondo belt colors and requirements

After successfully passing the Taekwondo examination, you have earned the right to wear the next belt. The Taekwondo belts with their colors you should now briefly get to know in ascending order. Between the Kup examinations, 48 TE, i.e. training units of 45 minutes each, must be proven.

Taekwondo Gürtel & Regeln
© PointImages –

Belt levelRequirements for examination
White-yellow beltThe 9th Kup must earn his belt by performing some basic school techniques, tap exercises, pratze exercises and a 1-step fight with a partner. His theory part consists of knowledge of the techniques used in both languages. These parts of the exam are represented, at least at random, in every Taekwondo exam up to Taekwondo Master and therefore are not mentioned here every time. The difficulty increases with the belt grade.
Yellow beltThe 8th Kup also has a waiting period of 48 TE and must also show first free-fighting exercises and self-defense techniques against hand attacks. Furthermore, the knowledge of self-defense law and the background of Taekwondo is tested.
Yellow-green beltThe Taekwondo examination for the 7th Kup additionally includes the 1st form Taeguk il-chang as well as the basic forms of the falling techniques.
Green beltThe 6th Kup exam requires you to master the 2nd form Taeguk ih-chang and defend yourself from close range in an acted situation. Theoretical knowledge is also tested and relates more to the spiritual background of Taekwondo.
Green-blue beltThe Taekwondo examination for the 5th Kup includes the 3rd form Taeguk sam-chang as well as various prat exercises, free-fighting exercises and self-defense against combined attacks from close and middle distance.
Blue beltIn accordance with the Taekwondo examination for the 4th Kup you have to learn the 4th form Taeguk sa-chang. Furthermore you have to show that you can defend yourself against attacks from all distances. The breaking test, i.e. the breaking of boards, is represented here for the first time, whereby the board thicknesses are prescribed.
Blue-red/ blue-brown beltAs a candidate for the 3rd Kup you have to improve again and now also defend yourself against agreed stick attacks and agreed attacks in ground position. The 5th form Taeguk oh-chang and two break tests are also part of the program.
Red/ brown beltHere you can expect the 6th form Taeguk yuk-chang and an extension of self-defense to agreed knife attacks as well as free stick attacks. Two break tests and the general learning progress control belong naturally to it.
Red-black/ brown-black beltThe last student grade is achieved by mastering the 7th form Taeguk chil-chang, demonstrating two different breaking tests and being able to defend yourself against unarmed and armed surprise attacks as well as under space constraints.

The Master Grades

The one who dares to take the next step may call himself Taekwondo Master. In the examinations you must distinguish the master degrees in the Poom degrees for young people and the well-known Dan degrees for adults. However, the waiting periods remain unchanged. The 1st to 3rd Poom degrees are awarded to students who have not yet reached the age of 15. From the age of 15 a normal Dan examination is possible.

Belt levelExam requirements
1. Poom/ DanFor 1st Dan you must be proficient in the 8th form Taeguk pal-jang, be able to defend yourself against various unarmed as well as armed techniques, demonstrate a 1-step fight as well as free-fighting and complete 3 breaking tests, whereby you must demonstrate a 2-step combination.
2. Poom/ DanThe 2nd Dan exam includes the 9th form Koryeo and 4 breaking tests, which must now include a jumping technique.
3. Poom/ DanHere you can expect the 10th form Kumgang, self-defense against multiple opponents and 5 break tests with a 3 combination and two jump techniques.
4. Dan – 7th DanYou have to show 2 forms for each exam. Furthermore, from here on you choose one form for prior knowledge control and a free 1 step fight by yourself. The break test has from here also no more defaults and you should therefore also choose it independently in appropriate difficulty.
8. DanThe control of the previous knowledge is omitted. You must master the forms Cheonkwon and Hansu, show self-defense against one or more opponents, demonstrate a free 1-step fight and perform an appropriate breaking test.
9. DanThe program is identical to the 8th Dan exam except that you must demonstrate the forms Hansu and Illeyo.
10. DanThe 10th Taekwondo Dan exists only once in the world at any time and is awarded honorarily to the President of the WTF. There is no examination.

Holders of a Taekwondo Poom receive a red-black Taekwondo belt, while a Taekwondo Dan may wear the familiar black belt. Any prior knowledge may be randomly tested, at the discretion of the examiner. From the 4th Dan on, the examination program is predominantly determined by you as the examinee. The times between the exams depend on the Dan degree in years, so 1st Dan = 1 year preparation time to 2nd Dan or 4th Dan = 4 years preparation time to 5th Dan.

The Taekwondo rankings should be viewed regardless of belt color, with most well-known Taekwondoin high up in the rankings wearing a black belt.

The student belt examinations

From the beginning, you are a 10th Kup in Taekwondo (as opposed to a 9th Kyu in Karate and Judo) and wear a white belt. You do not have to take an exam for this. The other Taekwondo belts sometimes differ in color, which is related to the different federations. Each belt is earned through a separate examination.

The exams consist of different elements, which vary depending on the belt level and are practiced in the Taekwondo training. A special feature compared to the Japanese martial arts is that the theory lessons are a fixed part of the exam from the beginning.

The disciplines are:

  • Theory
  • Basic school
  • Form run
  • Tap exercises (foot positions)
  • Pratzen exercises
  • Partner exercises (fight with announcement)
  • Free fight (from 8. Kup)
  • Self-defense
  • Breaking test (from 4. Kup, from 7. year of life)

Buy Taekwondo belts

If after your first few training sessions you have determined that you will remain loyal to Taekwondo, then you can purchase a Taekwondo belt for training.

FAQ about Taekwondo belts

Update: 2023-05-28 / Affiliate Links / Bilder von der Amazon Product Advertising API